Network Manager Telecom
Demo: Long running tasks
Network Manager Telecom 3.4 new functionality: Long running tasks.
See how IQGeo Network Manager Telecom latest long running tasks feature lets you import data or publish designs in the background while continuing other work. The new progress tracker, cancellation option, and error handling make managing lengthy tasks seamless and efficient.
View transcript
We have two new functionalities that are now integrated with LRT. That is our CDIF import and published design. So if we go ahead and get a design going here, I'll kind of show you how this works. So the long and short of LRT is just that we can start a task and it'll run in the background, which will allow a user to do other things on our website. The platform while this task is running a particularly long task, especially. So we'll just go ahead and call this test, set to designing. And then, so you'll notice one of our new UI elements here is the task project progress tracker down here. This doesn't have anything in it right now, just because we don't have any tasks or task history associated with this design, but I'll go ahead and open this up. And this one I should mention is specifically for publishing a design. We wanted to keep the progress bar as closely associated with the UI related to the task as we could. So if you'll see here on our imports screen, we don't show anything yet, but I'll go ahead and pull up a large zip file that we can import. And once we get that going, we'll start to see it's uploading. And then once the actual import starts, the progress bar will show up right here. So right now it was queued. And then once it starts, you'll see the progress bar start to go up. We've also added functionality for if they're halfway through a task and they realize that they don't want to do this particular thing yet. Like they want to make some changes. They're able to cancel that task at any time, but they can also close out of that window, even close out of the design. Let's say they just want to, you know, go back and master, add a cabinet or feature or something like that. They can go ahead and master. They can go ahead and master. They can go ahead and master. They can go ahead and start to see it. And then at any time they can open their design back up, go back to the import data and they'll receive their progress updated as usual. And we'll go ahead and wait for that to finish. And I'll go ahead and show publish off after this. But in the meantime, all the functionality for these features are pretty much exactly the same as they were before. So there's nothing we really need to update in terms of workflow with these at all, other than the fact that if there's a long task and a user wants to do something else, they can. We've also maintained in imports, we have a view log button that is still the same. And in fact, now you can go back and if you've already finished an import and you close out of the window, you can still reopen it and view the log for that previous import and even the progress status. So once this finishes, if we close out and go back in, it'll still show, hey, this previous task is finished and you can view the log for that and you can start a new import if you want to at the same time. So once it's finished, it'll go ahead and turn green. And I'll go ahead and show that the log is working up here. You can see warnings are still maintained and then it shows everything it's loading. So, yeah, as you can see, we just have some buildings, conduits, fiber cables, just kind of standard network stuff. And so now we'll go ahead and redraw the bounds. We'll show this location, which covers a very large area of Canada. And now we will go ahead and run a publish. So the thing with publish, this design, a part of testing it, this design actually does have errors in it. And we'll kind of show that once we get started here, how we handle errors with the progress tracker. So once I start to publish, this dropdown will open up and show that we are now queued and publishing. And pretty soon here, we'll see that start to go up. So in the progress tracker, we have also implemented our conflicts check as well as our validation. When those things go on and potentially fail, it'll just send back the data for what went wrong. But those two functionalities can also take a decent amount of time. So we wanted to go ahead and include that in the publishing process. And you can see here it did just fail and it let us know design has errors, cannot publish. And then the user can go ahead and run a validation to check to see, fix their mistakes. And then they can just rerun it like normal. And then it would work from there.



